Account LoginAccount Login
Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Cricket fans gear up for the Ashes in Australia

The Ashes, a fiercely contested cricket series played between Australian and England, will be played in Australia over the coming months.
22 November 2010
Many English tourists are expected to travel to Australia to watch the games, which start with a test at the “Gabba” in Brisbane.

All travellers to Australia, unless they have an Australian or New Zealand passport must have an Australian Travel Visa. The most popular of these is the ETA Visa, because it can be easily applied for online.

The Ashes got its name after a cricket match in 1882, when Australia beat England on English turf for the first time. A satirical obituary published in a British newspaper stated that English cricket had died, and the body would be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia. The English media dubbed the next English tour to Australia as the quest to regain The Ashes.

The Ashes series usually comprises five Test matches, and in Australia these games will be held in a different city:
• Brisbane Cricket Ground or the "Gabba" in Brisbane from 25-29 November 2010;
• Adelaide Oval in Adelaide from 3-7 December 2010;
• Western Australian Cricket Association Ground or the "WACA" in Perth from 16-20 December 2010;
• Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) from 26-30 December 2010;
• Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) from 3-7 January 2011.

England currently holds The Ashes, after beating Australia 2-1 to regain them in the 2009 Ashes series.